BrideSpark is now 100% free Start planning →

City guide · New York City

Planning a Wedding in New York City: License and Costs (2026)

Planning a wedding in New York City in 2026: the $35 license and 24-hour wait, City Clerk ceremonies, park permit prices, officiant rules and the 8.875% tax.

By the BrideSpark team · 14 min read

Planning a Wedding in New York City: License and Costs (2026)

To get married in New York City, you book an appointment with the City Clerk, get a $35 marriage license together, wait a full 24 hours, and marry within 60 days. The ceremony can be the Clerk's own ($25, weekdays, a few guests) or anywhere in New York State with your own officiant, who needs City Clerk registration or a one-day license to marry you in the five boroughs.

That's the cheap part. The average New York wedding costs $88,000, and 8.875% sales tax lands on almost every line of the catering bill, "service charge" included. Fees and rules below were checked on the official pages in October 2026.

City Clerk, or a wedding of your own?

New York makes a two-part wedding easy: the legal ceremony at the Clerk's office on a Thursday, the party for 150 on Saturday. As the Clerk's FAQ puts it, "You may marry the same person more than once."

The City Clerk ceremony

The famous "City Hall wedding" doesn't happen at City Hall. The City Clerk marries couples at its offices in all five boroughs, Monday to Friday, by appointment through Project Cupid (nyc.gov/cupid) or 311. The Manhattan office at 141 Worth Street is the one people picture: a waiting room, your number called, a few minutes in a small chapel. On a June Friday in 2017, Time Out counted up to 168 ceremonies there, so you won't be the only couple in a gown.

  • The fee is $25, by card or money order, on top of the license.
  • Bring at least one witness, 18 or older, with ID, and the same IDs the two of you used for the license.
  • Keep the group tiny. NYC311 caps it at six people, counting the two of you and your witness. The Clerk's own 2023 notice says up to four attendees, witnesses included, plus a few children 12 and under at its discretion.
  • Your license must be more than 24 hours old, and late arrivals aren't married.

You walk out with your Certificate of Marriage Registration.

Your own venue and officiant

A Bushwick loft or a Midtown ballroom needs the same license, at least one witness, and an officiant who is registered with the City Clerk or holds a one-day license. That last part catches out more couples than anything else here.

City Clerk ceremonyYour own venue
Fee$25 (plus the $35 license)Venue, officiant and the rest
Guests6 people in total, you includedUp to the venue
OfficiantThe Clerk'sYours, registered with the City or holding a one-day license
CertificateHanded over at the ceremonyBy mail, about 20 days after the Clerk processes your license
When to moveOnce you know your week12 months or more for a June or October Saturday

The license: $35, 24 hours, 60 days

The City Clerk's license page sets out the steps:

  1. Start the application online at City Clerk Online. It expires after 21 days, so don't do it months ahead.
  2. Book an appointment on Project Cupid. There are no walk-ins.
  3. Appear together, at the same time, at any of the five offices or by video call. Video only works if you're both physically in New York State, so you can't do it from home before you fly in.
  4. Pay $35 by card or money order. It's non-refundable.
  5. Read the license before you leave. Corrections are free within 24 hours, $25 after that.

There's no blood test. Nobody under 18 can marry in New York, with or without parental consent, whatever a few wedding sites still say.

What to bring

One valid, unexpired ID each, which also counts as proof of age: IDNYC, a US driver license or photo non-driver ID, an active US military ID, a passport (NYC311 says from any country), a Certificate of Naturalization, a Permanent Resident Card or an Employment Authorization Card.

The application also asks for your parents' names and countries of birth, your Social Security numbers and every prior marriage, with the date and place of each divorce. Divorces must be final, and you may be asked for the decree.

The wait and the 60 days

The 24 hours run from the minute of issue: a license picked up at 10 am Wednesday allows a ceremony from 10 am Thursday. A New York State Supreme Court judge can waive the wait (NYC311 says to ask at the County Clerk's office), but that's for emergencies, not plans.

The license is good for 60 days starting the day after it's issued (180 if either of you is on active US military duty), anywhere in New York State and nowhere outside it, so a venue in Jersey City or Hoboken means a New Jersey license instead. For a big wedding we'd pick it up four to eight weeks before the date: well inside the 60 days, with time for a friend's one-day officiant license, which can't be requested until yours exists.

State Senate bill S10191 would raise the license to $60 and the Clerk ceremony to $55. It was still in committee in October 2026, so check the fee before you pay.

Who can marry you in New York City

State law lets clergy of any religion, judges, the mayor and a list of other officials marry you (not ship captains), and your officiant doesn't have to live in New York. The city adds a rule the rest of the state doesn't have, and it catches out the pastor from back home and the friend ordained online last spring.

Clergy and judges: registered with the City first

Anyone performing a ceremony inside the five boroughs must be registered with the City Clerk before the wedding: $15, once. City residents register in person at 141 Worth Street; clergy from outside the city can mail a notarized application, which the Clerk's FAQ says takes two to four weeks. A pastor who has married fifty couples in Connecticut isn't registered here until they've done this, so ask early. Project Cupid has a form for checking.

A friend or relative: the one-day officiant license

Under a law signed in December 2022, anyone 18 or older can marry one named couple with a $25 One-Day Marriage Officiant License, no registration needed. Three rules:

  • It can only be requested after your marriage license is issued. The Manhattan office handles it for all five boroughs, by notarized application in the mail or at an in-person appointment.
  • It must be issued before the ceremony. Otherwise, the Clerk says, "such marriage would be invalid", and it won't release your certificate.
  • It ends at your ceremony or when your license expires, whichever comes first.

So the order is fixed: your license, then your friend's application, then the wedding. A roommate flying in from Denver the day before, planning to sort it out in person, is betting the marriage on an appointment slot. Send something like this the day you get your license:

After the ceremony

You, your officiant and your witness sign the license, and the officiant mails it to the Clerk's Manhattan office within five business days. Your certificate arrives by mail about 20 days after the Clerk processes it; if nothing has come a month after the wedding, contact the Clerk.

What a New York wedding costs

New York tops The Knot's 2026 city figures, as reported by U.S. News & World Report in August 2026: $88,000 on average for the ceremony and reception, against $54,000 in Chicago and $45,000 in Los Angeles. The national average is $34,000 for 117 guests in The Knot's 2026 Real Weddings Study and $36,000 in Zola's First Look Report 2026, so the typical New York wedding costs about two and a half times the national one.

That average spans a Saturday ballroom in Midtown and a Friday dinner for 40 in Queens. The wedding budget calculator turns your own total into a per-guest figure, and our wedding budget breakdown shows where the money usually goes.

The tax line on every quote

Sales tax is 8.875% in all five boroughs, and the State's guidance for caterers says that, in general, everything a caterer bills for your event is taxable, even separate lines like the band they book or the cake-cutting fee. When the venue caters, the room rental is taxed too; a bare room with a separate caterer isn't.

Then look at the 20-something percent near the bottom of the proposal. Under New York's rules on gratuities, a charge escapes tax only if it's listed separately, called a gratuity, and paid in full to staff. A "service charge" is taxed. Say a caterer quotes $150 a head for food and drink for 100 guests, plus 22% (our arithmetic):

Called a "service charge"Called a gratuity, all paid to staff
Food and drink, 100 × $150$15,000$15,000
22% charge$3,300$3,300
Taxed amount$18,300$15,000
Sales tax at 8.875%$1,624$1,331
Total, before any extra tip$19,924$19,631

Same food, same staff, $293 apart because of one word, and the gap grows with the bill. Ask every caterer in writing: "Is this a service charge or a gratuity, does all of it go to staff, and is it taxed?" Then compare totals, not per-head prices.

Getting married in Central Park and other parks

NYC Parks lets you marry in any city park with a $25 permit. The permit is the cheap part; the rules shape the day, and none of these places allow a reception, so dinner happens elsewhere. Checked October 2026:

WhereFeeGroup sizeWhen to applyThe rule that bites
Any NYC park, Central Park included$25Permit needed from about 20 people21 days ahead at the latest; Central Park says allow 30In Central Park: no chairs, flowers, decorations or alcohol
Conservatory Garden, Central ParkShown when you request the permitNot statedAt least 10 days ahead; the year opens January 190 minutes for ceremony and photos, no arches or chairs
Brooklyn Bridge Park (Pier 1 Granite Prospect, Empire Fulton Ferry, Pebble Beach)$426 all-inUp to 100Next year opens December 1; allow 21 business days1.5 hours maximum, no holiday weekends
Brooklyn Botanic Garden, ceremony$628 for up to 50, then $22 each60 maximumFirst come, first servedWeekends only, 9 to 10 am, two ceremonies a day, standing
Brooklyn Botanic Garden, photos$366 for up to 2525First come, first served60 minutes with a security escort
Fort Tryon Park$25Not stated30 days at the latest; the park's Trust suggests 6 to 11 monthsNo wedding photos in the Heather Garden

NYC Parks' pages say both "more than 20" and "20 or more". We'd get a permit for 12 people at a popular spot anyway: $25 settles any argument with another wedding over the same lawn. Brooklyn Bridge Park and the Conservatory Garden want one at any size. One local note: Pebble Beach has the skyline but sits right beside the Manhattan Bridge, and the trains rattling across it will drown out your vows. Pier 1 is quieter.

Central Park

NYC Parks' Central Park page suggests spots with rough capacities: Cherry Hill, Great Hill and Summit Rock for 60, Cop Cot and Cedar Hill for 50, Bethesda Terrace for 25, and Bow Bridge, Wagner Cove or the Shakespeare Garden for 20 to 25.

The rules are stricter than couples expect: no tents, tables or chairs, no amplified sound (acoustic is fine), no flowers, balloons or decorations, no alcohol, and no drop-off by car or pedicab. A chuppah can be carried in by hand with permission. The park stays open to everyone, so Bethesda Terrace on a sunny Saturday comes with an audience. If you want an arch and a champagne toast, you want a venue.

Photos, and parks with real venues

Portraits in NYC parks need no permit if your photographer sticks to handheld cameras or a tripod, takes no exclusive space, brings no props and needs no vehicle access; lighting and drones need approval. Brooklyn Bridge Park wants a photo permit only for groups over 20 or more than handheld gear, while the Botanic Garden charges for any wedding shoot.

For garden photos and dinner in one place, book a venue inside a park instead, such as Wave Hill or the New York Botanical Garden in the Bronx, the Prospect Park Boathouse or Tavern on the Green.

When to marry: weather and the November light

There's no dry season. NOAA's 1991-2020 normals for Central Park show about 3.2 to 4.6 inches of rain in every month, so every outdoor plan needs a covered backup. Temperature is what changes:

MonthAverage highAverage lowSunset, mid-month Saturday 2027
May71°F55°F8:06 pm (May 15)
June80°F64°F8:30 pm (June 19)
August83°F69°F7:56 pm (August 14)
September76°F62°F7:00 pm (September 18)
October65°F51°F6:14 pm (October 16)
November54°F42°F4:40 pm (November 13)

May, June, September and October are the comfortable months, and venues sell those Saturdays first. July averages 85°F, a long evening in a suit on a rooftop. Then watch early November: the clocks go back, and sunset drops from 5:47 pm on Saturday, November 6, 2027 to 4:40 pm a week later, so a 4 pm ceremony on November 13 means portraits in the dark (and the Conservatory Garden's flower displays end in late October). Our wedding day timeline shows how to build the day back from sunset.

Guests from out of town

Hotels fill around Fashion Week, the Marathon, the US Open and the holidays (Zola's NYC guide flags all four), so set up a hotel room block as soon as the date is fixed, ideally at two price points.

Driving into Manhattan at or below 60th Street from 5 am to 9 pm on weekdays (9 am to 9 pm on weekends) now costs a car $9 a day with E-ZPass and a tour bus $21.60; taxis add $0.75 a trip and Uber or Lyft $1.50, and the FDR Drive and West Side Highway are exempt. Put the toll in the shuttle quote. From JFK, the AirTrain to the subway at Howard Beach or Jamaica (where the Long Island Rail Road stops too) costs $8.75, and plenty of guests will take it if you tell them how.

Write all of it down once. The Travel & stay section of a free BrideSpark wedding website holds each hotel's group code, rate and book-by date next to your airport and subway notes, so you don't answer the same question forty times.

Marrying here from abroad

If your home country needs proof of a New York marriage, the $15 short certificate won't do. Order the Extended Certificate for Foreign Use ($35), have the County Clerk authenticate the City Clerk's signature ($3), then get an apostille from the New York State Department of State ($10). The certificate you're handed after a Clerk ceremony can't be apostilled, so you need the extended one either way. Our guide to planning a destination wedding covers whether to marry legally abroad or at home.

Working back from the date

12 to 14 months out: budget, guest count, borough, and Clerk ceremony, venue or both. Book the venue, photographer and officiant, and ask the officiant whether they're registered with the City Clerk.

9 to 12 months: caterer and band, with the service charge question in writing. Park bookings open for the following year on the first Tuesday after Labor Day (NYC Parks), December 1 (Brooklyn Bridge Park) and January 1 (Conservatory Garden).

3 to 6 months: hotel blocks and website live; an unregistered officiant from out of town mails the registration.

8 to 10 weeks: book the license appointment on Project Cupid.

4 to 8 weeks: pick up the license. A one-day officiant applies that same week, and you check it's issued two weeks out.

Within five business days of the wedding: the officiant mails the license back, and the certificate follows about 20 days after the Clerk processes it.

The BrideSpark wedding checklist dates every task back from your own wedding day, marriage license check included, so the paperwork turns up on time rather than in a panic.

Frequently asked questions

Can we get married the same day we get our license in NYC?

No. New York requires a full 24 hours between the moment the license is issued and the ceremony. A New York State Supreme Court judge can waive the wait in emergencies, but couples shouldn't plan on it.

How many guests can come to a City Clerk wedding?

NYC311 allows six people in total, counting the couple and the witness. The City Clerk's own notice says up to four attendees including witnesses, and it may allow a few children aged 12 and under.

Do we have to live in New York to get married there?

No. The New York City Clerk asks for one valid ID each (a passport from any country counts) and both of you at the appointment together. Video appointments are only for couples physically in New York State, so visitors book theirs for after they arrive.

Can a friend officiate our wedding in New York City?

Yes, with a $25 One-Day Marriage Officiant License from the New York City Clerk. Your friend must be 18 or older, can only apply after your marriage license is issued, and must have the one-day license before the ceremony, or the marriage is invalid.

Do we need a permit to get married in Central Park?

NYC Parks requires its $25 permit for groups of about 20 or more and asks for 30 days to process it in Central Park; its weddings page says any park ceremony needs one. The Conservatory Garden needs a separate permit from the Central Park Conservancy at any size.

How much does it cost to get married at the NYC City Clerk?

$60 in total at October 2026 prices: $35 for the license and $25 for the ceremony, by card or money order. A State Senate bill would raise the license to $60 and the ceremony to $55, so check before you pay.

Sources

Plan it all in one place - free

Checklist, budget, guest list with online RSVPs, seating chart, timeline and your wedding website. Every feature, free for every couple.

Keep planning

All articles